Who has won the Turing Award 2020?

Who has won the Turing Award 2020?

Jeffrey UllmanTuring Award
Alfred AhoTuring Award
2020 Turing Award Ceremony/Winners

Who won Turing Award 2021?

Margaret Martonosi, the Hugh Trumbull Adams ’35 Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University, was named the recipient of the 2021 ACM – IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award for contributions to the design, modeling, and verification of power-efficient computer architecture.

Who got Turing Award?

The Turing Award is named for Alan Mathison Turing, an English pioneer in computers and artificial intelligence. The first recipient of the award, in 1966, was Alan J. Perlis, an American computer scientist who wrote the compiler for the ALGOL computer programming language.

How many people have received the Turing Award?

This list of Turing Award laureates by university affiliation shows the university affiliations of Turing Award winners since 1966 (as of 2021, 74 winners in total).

Did Alan Turing get a Nobel Prize?

It is generally recognized as the highest distinction in computer science and is known as or often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Computing”. The award is named after Alan Turing, who was a British mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester….Turing Award.

ACM Turing Award
Website amturing.acm.org

Who received Turing Award in 1973?

Charles William Bachman III
Charles Bachman, in full Charles William Bachman III, (born December 11, 1924, Manhattan, Kansas, U.S.—died July 13, 2017, Lexington, Massachusetts), American computer scientist and winner of the 1973 A.M. Turing Award, the highest honour in computer science, for “his outstanding contributions to database technology.”

Who got Turing Award for demonstrating the practical importance of AI?

Raj Reddy
Dabbala Rajagopal “Raj” Reddy (born 13 June 1937) is an Indian-American computer scientist and a winner of the Turing Award. He is one of the early pioneers of artificial intelligence and has served on the faculty of Stanford and Carnegie Mellon for over 50 years….

Raj Reddy
Doctoral advisor John McCarthy

Who broke enigma?

Alan Turing, a Cambridge University mathematician and logician, provided much of the original thinking that led to the design of the cryptanalytical bombe machines that were instrumental in eventually breaking the naval Enigma.

Did Alan Turing receive any awards?

Turing died in 1954, 16 days before his 42nd birthday, from cyanide poisoning….Alan Turing.

Alan Turing OBE FRS
Awards Smith’s Prize (1936)
Scientific career
Fields Logic Mathematics Cryptanalysis Computer science Mathematical and theoretical biology

Who received Turing Award for his outstanding contribution in DB?

Who decoded Enigma first?

Alan Turing

Who stole Enigma machine?

But the work of Bletchley Park – and Turing’s role there in cracking the Enigma code – was kept secret until the 1970s, and the full story was not known until the 1990s. It has been estimated that the efforts of Turing and his fellow code-breakers shortened the war by several years.

Why is it called the Turing Award?

The A.M. Turing Award, sometimes referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Computing,” was named in honor of Alan Mathison Turing (1912–1954), a British mathematician and computer scientist. He made fundamental advances in computer architecture, algorithms, formalization of computing, and artificial intelligence.

Who is the ACM Turing Award 2020 recipient?

ACM named Alfred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman recipients of the 2020 ACM A.M. Turing Award for fundamental algorithms and theory underlying programming language implementation and for synthesizing these results and those of others in their highly influential books, which educated generations of computer scientists.

Who was Alan Turing and what did he do?

The award is named after Alan Turing, who was a British mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester. Turing is often credited as being the key founder of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence.

Who are the Turing winners in Computer Science?

“At the heart of this progress are fundamental techniques developed starting more than 30 years ago by this year’s Turing Award winners, Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton, and Yann LeCun.