Which countries speaks German?

Which countries speaks German?

In addition to Germany, German is the official language of Austria, Belgium, parts of Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Poland, and Switzerland. German is the most widely spoken language of the European Union after English.

How many countries speaks German?

six countries
The six countries that have German as their official language, in alphabetical order, are: Austria, Belgium, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Switzerland. Over 78% of the world’s total German speakers live in Germany….German Speaking Countries 2021.

Country 2021 Population
Luxembourg 634,814
Liechtenstein 38,250

What is the largest of the 4 German speaking countries?

The European countries with German-speaking majorities are Germany (95%, 78.3 million), Austria (89%, 8.9 million), and Switzerland (65%, 4.6 million), also known as the “D-A-CH” countries.

Is German spoken in Africa?

German, a Germanic language, is especially widely used in central and southern Namibia and was until 1990 one of three official languages in what was then South West Africa, alongside Afrikaans and English, two other Germanic languages in Namibia….German language in Namibia.

Namibian German
Glottolog None

Is Belgium a Germanic country?

Countries. Independent European countries whose population are predominantly native speakers of a Germanic language: Austria. Belgium (slightly more than 60% majority concentrated in Flanders and the German-speaking Community of Belgium)

Is Deutsch and German the same?

German language, German Deutsch, official language of both Germany and Austria and one of the official languages of Switzerland. German belongs to the West Germanic group of the Indo-European language family, along with English, Frisian, and Dutch (Netherlandic, Flemish).

Which country speaks Japanese?

Japanese speaking countries

Country Region Distribution
Japan East Asia 99.1 %
United States North America 0.2 %
Brazil South America 0.2 %
Guam Micronesia 2.0 %

Is German spoken in France?

Of the languages of France, French is the sole official language according to the second article of the French Constitution….

Languages of France
Foreign English (39%) Spanish (13%) German (8%) Italian (5%)
Signed French Sign Language
Keyboard layout AZERTY, BÉPO

Is America Germanic?

Over 50 million Americans claim German ancestry, which makes them the largest single claimed ethnic group in the United States. Around 1.06 million people in the United States speak the German language….German language in the United States.

US-American German
Writing system Latin (German alphabet)
Language codes
ISO 639-3

Is Ireland Germanic?

Why is Ireland included in Germanic Europe? Yes, but the definition of Germanic Europe is a cultural one – which countries in Europe speak Germanic languages and are culturally “Germanic peoples”. This includes the UK (specifically England), as well as Scandinavia, Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and Flanders, etc.

Is Dutch German or Holland?

Over time, English-speaking people used the word Dutch to describe people from both the Netherlands and Germany, and now just the Netherlands today. (At that point in time, in the early 1500s, the Netherlands and parts of Germany, along with Belgium and Luxembourg, were all part of the Holy Roman Empire.)

What countries use German as an official language?

German is the sole official language in Germany,Austria, and Liechtenstein, and is a co-official language in Switzerland, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the European Union.

What are all of the German speaking countries?

1) Austria Vienna 2) Belgium City of Brussels 3) Germany Berlin 4) Liechtenstein Vaduz 5) Luxembourg Luxembourg

Which German speaking countries do not use the Euro?

– Germany – Austria – Belgium (statewide along with Dutch and French) – Liechtenstein – Luxembourg (together with Luxembourgish and French) – Switzerland : statewide (together with French, Italian and Romansh) This includes the 17 German-speaking cantons, the cantons of Bern, Fribourg and Valais (together with French), the canton of Graubünden (together

What are German speaking nations?

German. German is the sole official language in Germany, Austria, and Liechtenstein, and is a co-official language in Switzerland, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the European Union. Several other countries, including Denmark, Hungary, Italy, and Poland, have German as a national minority language.