What years was Ernie Fletcher governor of Kentucky?

What years was Ernie Fletcher governor of Kentucky?

Ernie Fletcher
In office January 3, 1999 – December 8, 2003
Preceded by Scotty Baesler
Succeeded by Ben Chandler
Member of the Kentucky House of Representatives from the 78th district

Who was the first KY governor?

Isaac Shelby (December 11, 1750 – July 18, 1826) was the first and fifth Governor of Kentucky and served in the state legislatures of Virginia and North Carolina….

Isaac Shelby
Circa 1820
1st and 5th Governor of Kentucky
In office August 24, 1812 – September 5, 1816
Lieutenant Richard Hickman

When was Julian Carroll governor of Kentucky?

Julian Morton Carroll (born April 16, 1931) is an American lawyer and politician from the state of Kentucky. A Democrat, he served as the 54th Governor of Kentucky from 1974 to 1979, succeeding Wendell H. Ford, who resigned to accept a seat in the U.S. Senate.

How many governors have there been in Kentucky?

Fifty-nine individuals have held the office of Governor of Kentucky. Prior to a 1992 amendment to the state’s constitution, a Governor was prohibited from succeeding himself in office, though four men – Isaac Shelby, John LaRue Helm, James B. McCreary and A.B. “Happy” Chandler – served multiple non-consecutive terms.

Who was the previous Kentucky Governor?

Matthew Griswold Bevin (/ˈbɛvɪn/; born January 9, 1967) is an American businessman and politician who served as the 62nd governor of Kentucky, from 2015 to 2019. He was the third Republican elected Kentucky governor since World War II, after Ernie Fletcher (2003–2007) and Louie Nunn (1967–1971).

When was Steve Beshear governor of Kentucky?

Steven Lynn Beshear (born September 21, 1944) is an American attorney and politician who served as the 61st governor of Kentucky from 2007 to 2015.

Where was Isaac Shelby from?

Hagerstown, MD
Isaac Shelby/Place of birth

How many times was Isaac Shelby governor?

Colonel Shelby was one of the heroes at The Battle of Kings Mountain. The hard lessons learned from the wilderness were likewise applied during peacetime. He led Kentucky in the movement to statehood, became the state’s first governor, and served two terms.

Who was the last Kentucky governor?

Denver, Colorado, U.S. Matthew Griswold Bevin (/ˈbɛvɪn/; born January 9, 1967) is an American businessman and politician who served as the 62nd governor of Kentucky, from 2015 to 2019.

Who is Kentucky governor?

Andy Beshear (Democratic Party)Since 2019

Has Kentucky ever had a woman governor?

Martha Layne Collins (née Hall; born December 7, 1936) is an American former businesswoman and politician from the Commonwealth of Kentucky; she was elected as the state’s 56th governor from 1983 to 1987, the first woman to hold the office and the only one to date.

Who is the governor of Kentucky now?

Who was the Governor of Kentucky during the Civil War?

During the Civil War, a group of secessionists met at Russellville to form a Confederate government for the Commonwealth of Kentucky. While this government never successfully displaced the government in Frankfort, two men were elected governor of the Confederate government: George W.

What was the original state of Kentucky?

Kentucky was initially Kentucky County in Virginia. It achieved statehood and was admitted to the Union on June 1, 1792; see the list of governors of Virginia for the period before statehood.

What are the powers of the Governor of Kentucky?

The governor has a duty to enforce state laws; the power to either approve or veto bills passed by the Kentucky General Assembly; the power to convene the legislature; and the power to grant pardons, except in cases of treason and impeachment. He or she is also empowered to reorganize the state government…

Who was the first female governor of Kentucky?

Martha Layne Collins, who held the office from 1983 to 1987, was the first woman to serve as governor and was only the third woman to serve as governor of any U.S. state who was not the wife or widow of a previous governor. The 62nd and current Kentucky Governor is Republican Matt Bevin, who took office on December 8, 2015.