Table of Contents
What weapons can a felon have in Colorado?
According to Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S) 8-12-108 a felon cannot possess a weapon. This would include any type of gun or crossbow for hunting or any other purpose. However, there may be circumstances that would permit a felon to possess a knife in Colorado.
Does Colorado do background checks for ammo?
Unlike California and some other states, Colorado doesn’t require background checks for ammunition purchases. According to both state and federal laws, buyers need to be at least 21 to obtain handgun ammo and 18 to buy ammo for “long guns,” such as shotguns and rifles.
Can a felon get his gun rights back in Colorado?
With a felony conviction, federal law removes the right to bear arms. That right can only be restored with an expungement (record sealing) – (for felony convictions the right to seek to seal – expunge a felony only exists in Colorado for certain types of Drug Crimes felonies) – or by the grant of a governor’s pardon.
Can a felon own a gun in Colorado after 10 years?
No. Under Colorado Revised Statutes 18-12-108 C.R.S., convicted felons in Colorado are prohibited from knowingly possessing firearms or weapons. This law is abbreviated POWPO in Colorado for possession of a weapon by a previous offender.
Can a felon own a black powder gun in Colorado?
Can a convicted felon own a muzzleloader in Colorado? No. Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes 18-12-108 C.R.S., people who have been convicted of a felony are then forbidden from knowingly possessing firearms or weapons.
Who can purchase ammunition in Colorado?
Colorado state law allows residents aged 18 and older to own or possess legal firearms and ammunition unless they are otherwise prohibited from doing so.
Who can buy ammunition in Colorado?
The sale of shotguns and rifles (and related ammunition) is permitted to individuals who are at least 18 years old. Dealers are prohibited from selling all other types of firearms and ammunition to individuals under the age of 21.
How long do felonies stay on your record in Colorado?
Drug Misdemeanor – two years after final dispositions or release. Class 4, 5, or 6 Felony – three years after final disposition or release. Level 3 or 4 Drug Felony – three years after final disposition or release. Class 1 Misdemeanor – three years after final disposition or release.
Can a felon live in a house with a gun in Colorado?
A felon cannot be in possession of a firearm. In other words, a person can possess someone else’s gun. I would caution against having a gun in the house where a felon lives. For more information, contact us.
Can a felon possess a muzzleloader in Colorado?
Can a felon buy ammunition?
The GCA is an important law if you are a convicted felon, because you may not own or possess a firearm unless your rights are restored. Felons who have lost their rights have also forfeited the ability to purchase ammo. The federal statute prohibits possession of “any firearm or ammunition.” 18 U.S.C. § 922(g).