What are the main themes in Matilda?

What are the main themes in Matilda?


  • Education.
  • The Supernatural.
  • Awe and Amazement.
  • Fear.
  • Youth.
  • Violence.
  • Family.
  • Freedom and Confinement.

What is the main story of Matilda?

Sweet and bright little Matilda, a child of wondrous intelligence, is different from the rest of her family. Misunderstood by everyone and ignored at home all the time, Matilda escapes into a world of reading, honing her skills and exercising her mind so much she develops telekinetic powers.

What is the moral of the book Matilda?

Matilda teaches us that people can escape through reading, as she struggles to understand or be understood by her own family. A great quote from the book reads, Moral of the story: Reading can transport us to imaginary respites that can bring us much joy.

What is a theme of a story?

The term theme can be defined as the underlying meaning of a story. It is the message the writer is trying to convey through the story. Often the theme of a story is a broad message about life.

What do books symbolize in Matilda?

Symbolism in Matilda is important in understanding the story of this young genius. Books represent Matilda’s escape from her difficult life, miracles represent Matilda’s saintliness, and the newt represents Miss Trunchbull’s vulnerability.

What is the plot of a story?

The plot is what happens in a story. A strong plot is centered on one moment—an interruption of a pattern, a turning point, or an action—that raises a dramatic question, which must be answered throughout the course of the story. This is also known as plot A.

Is Matilda a true story?

Dahl published Mathilda in 1988, a few years before his death, after a couple of years of writing and based many of the events and characters on personages from his actual life. For instance, Mr Wormwood is based on a real person that Dahl encountered from his home village of Great Missenden in Buckinghamshire.

Why is Matilda inspiring?

Matilda teaches us that it isn’t okay to be bullied and manipulated. She is brave and stands up for herself against people who are way elder, larger and stronger than her, which includes her parents and Trunchbull. She helps Miss Honey find the courage to stand up to her evil aunt Miss Trunchbull and reclaim her home.

What are some theme ideas?

6 Common Themes in Literature

  • Good vs. evil.
  • Love.
  • Redemption.
  • Courage and perseverance.
  • Coming of age.
  • Revenge.

What is a central idea?

CENTRAL IDEA refers to what the text is mainly about. Central idea is NOT the topic of the text. Central idea can most often be stated in one sentence.

What type of novel is the story Matilda?

Matilda (novel)

First UK edition
Author Roald Dahl
Genre Children’s literature, Fantasy
Published 1 October 1988
Publisher Jonathan Cape

What is the first grown up book Matilda reads?

Great Expectations
Librarian Mrs Phelps is the very first adult to encourage Matilda’s love of reading and to hand her her first story for adults. Matilda is just four years and three months old, and the story Mrs Phelps picks is Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. It’s very famous and very good.

What is the story Matilda about?

Matilda lesson plans Matilda is one of Roald Dahl’s best-known stories. The story of the little girl with a big brain and mysterious magical powers, her kind teacher Miss Honey and her formidable Headmistress Miss Trunchbull has entertained parents and children alike for generations since it was first published in 1988.

What does the librarian do to help Matilda?

The librarian, Mrs. Phelps, lets Matilda sit in the children’s section and read. She soon reads every children’s book in the whole building. Then, with Mrs. Phelps’s help, she begins picking out grown-up books to read.

What is the message of Matilda by Roald Dahl?

This sends an important message about the innocence and uniqueness of childhood. Matilda and the other children at Crunchem Hall stage a constant battle against Miss Trunchbull, which shows that children have agency and can take a stand against maltreatment.

What are the five main locations in Matilda?

There are five main locations within the story: The village library, the Wormwood’s home, the school, Miss Honey’s cottage and the home of the school’s headmistress. Matilda is a young child-genius who has the misfortune of living with parents and an older brother who care neither for her nor her unique abilities.