What are the 16 ECOWAS countries and their capital?

What are the 16 ECOWAS countries and their capital?

15 Cards in this Set

Benin Porto-Novo
Senegal Dakar
Liberia Monrovia
Guinea Conakry
Guinea Bissau Bissau

What are the 16 countries of West Africa?

The West Africa UN subregion includes the following countries:Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte D’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo .

How many countries started ECOWAS?

15 member
There are currently 15 member countries in the Economic Community of West African States. The founding members of ECOWAS were: Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania (left 2002), Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, and Burkina Faso (which joined as Upper Volta).

Which country joined ECOWAS last?

All current members joined the community as founding members in May 1975, except Cape Verde which joined in 1977. The only former member of ECOWAS is Arabic-speaking Mauritania, which was also one of the founding members in 1975 and decided to withdraw in December 2000.

How many Anglophone countries are in ECOWAS?

(Togo First) – Yesterday, in Abuja, the ministers of finance and central banks’ governors of the ECOWAS’ five English-speaking countries (Nigeria, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Liberia, and The Gambia), together with Guinea, rejected the ECO – which is supposed to become the single currency used by all ECOWAS member states.

How many Lusophone countries are there in West Africa?

six African countries
The Portuguese-speaking African countries (Portuguese: Países Africanos de Língua Oficial Portuguesa; PALOP), also known as Lusophone Africa, consist of six African countries in which the Portuguese language is an official language: Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, São Tomé and Príncipe and, since 2011.

What are the 15 ECOWAS countries?

The 15 members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Which country is the headquarters of ECOWAS?

Abuja, Nigeria
*It was in order to realize this vision unimpeded that the ECOWAS administrative machinery based in Abuja, Nigeria, transformed its Secretariat to a Commission in January 2007.

Can I use Ecowas passport to travel to USA?

The ECOWAS passport is a common passport document for countries in West Africa. The passport can be used within the sub-region and is also recognized for international travel.

What are the Anglophone countries?

Five of the largest of these are sometimes described as the “core Anglosphere”; they are the United States of America (with at least 231 million native English speakers), the United Kingdom (60 million), Canada (19 million), Australia (at least 17 million), and New Zealand (4.8 million).

What are ECOWAS greatest achievements?

One major achievement by the ECOWAS is the construction of highways linking major cities across the region. One of such intra road network currently been built by the ECOWAS is the Lagos-Abidjan highway that starts from Ivory Coast (Elubo) passes through Alflao and terminates in Lagos.

What are the names of the OECS countries?

The OECS is a nine member grouping comprised by Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada , Montserrat , St. Kitts and Nevis , St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines . Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands are associate members of the OECS.

Who is the current leader of ECOWAS?

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo was Monday unanimously elected Chairman of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), at the regional bloc’s 57th Summit, held in Niamey, Niger. The President takes over from Nigerien leader Mahamadou Issoufou.

What is the importance of ECOWAS as a trade bloc?

The ECOWAS trade policy is also meant to foster the smooth integration of the region into the world economy with due regard for the political choices and development priorities of states in the desire to engender sustainable development and reduction of poverty. The total trade of the region has averaged $208.1 billion.